jump to navigation

Nobel buzz 2007 October 2, 2007

Posted by apetrov in Near Physics, Physics, Science.

It’s this time of the year again. The Nobel Prize in Physics will be awarded by the Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences and Nobel Foundation on October 9 2007. Who will get it? That’s the question. Once again, Thomson Scientific is trying to predict the outcome of this year’s selection. They try to combine “worthy discoveries” with number of citations and “predictor prizes” to form their predictions. Or maybe they just want to show that the actual selection process is nothing of the above (after all, they totally got it wrong last year)? So far, their top three candidates are:

1. Sumio Iijima (carbon nanotubes)

2. Arthur McDonald and Yoji Totsuka (neutrino physics)

3. Martin J Rees (cosmology)

Personally, I think that the chances of Sumio Iijima look better then the rest — they just gave out an astrophysics prize last year with AMO and particle physics in the preceeding years…



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: